In addition, first-time posters will be reminded that this feature exists at all. Step one: See your profile as others see it Once you know how forthcoming your current Facebook setup is, you can decide what changes you need to make to your share settings. Here you can access a search bar, which allows you to enter phone numbers and email address of people you know who you would like to invite to Facebook. Type your friend's name into the search bar. You cannot restrict who has access to your profile or cover pictures, so it's best to choose profile and cover photos that you don't mind being visible to anyone, including strangers browsing Facebook or those who might be searching for you. This is what the menu will look like by default: Source: Facebook.
However help is at hand. If you want to only see major life events such as when they add a new relationship, get a job, move away, etc. You can set restrictions on who can post on your timeline, who can see posts you've been tagged in on your timeline, who can see what others post on our timeline, whether you want to review tags before they are published, and select who can see tag suggestions when Facebook identifies your face in an uploaded picture. Users can't identify any mutual friends between two users who both have their friends list set to private e. Change it from Most Updates to All Updates if that is what you want.
You can customize who can follow you, who can comment on your posts, and who can comment or like profile information that is always public, like your profile picture or cover photos. If you entered a current city and state on your profile, you can choose to display only the friends who listed the same city. Related: 15 I want to… protect my location Facebook loves it when you check into places, it gobbles up all of that lovely data to attract advertisers. The very obvious step is not to click the location pin when posting. If she's not typing away at her keyboard, you can probably find her at Disneyland or watching Star Wars or both. You will be able to preview all the notifications and actions performed by the members added to the Close Friends list.
There's no point in looking in Facebook's Privacy Settings to hide your Friends list—you won't find it there. Step four: Tame your timeline and tags You've already determined who can view your timeline see step one , but you can also block friends from adding to your timeline and review photos someone attempts to tag you in via the Timeline and Tagging Settings. Everything about how privacy works on Facebook remains the same. Learn more about your privacy settings in Facebook If you're not sure how you want to set your privacy levels for your various Facebook interactions, you can view the privacy basics to get more information and learn the different things you can do to protect your privacy at the level of which you want. Close Friends is a Friends list inside your friends list which separates some friends from all other friends in the list who are under acquaintances or are uncategorized. Here is some information about event privacy: Hi.
A warning appears when you attempt to limit access to all your past posts at once rather than changing the setting post-by-post. It's up to you to decide which privacy setting you are most comfortable with in each subject. This will post that specific status update to your Facebook feed using the privacy settings you've selected. Facebook is also providing users with more control over what information they reveal to apps as well as more control over what others can share about them via apps. You are able to view the mutual friends of any two users on Facebook, so long as one of the two users shares his friends list publicly. No way around it, sadly. Many become associated with your Facebook account by being installed on your smartphone, others by using Facebook Connect to create accounts.
You will find this bar on the upper left-hand corner of your home page. You may want to crop out anything sensitive in the photo depending on your own privacy needs. That stickiness is important to remember. Facebook apps for mobile devices work a little differently from the website. It's common to post photos to Facebook and then to wish to restrict who can see your photos.
If you normally post just to friends and decide to post something publicly, you must remember to change the setting back to Friend the next time you post or your posts will remain accessible to the public. To change the default so only your Facebook friends can see what you post, click Edit, and select Friends from the drop-down menu. If so leave me a comment! Navigate to the Facebook search bar. Facebook is the default privacy setting for new status updates from Public to Friends. You may have to be a friend of one of their friends in order to add them. If you want to double check your Nearby Friends setting read on.
Try the methods listed in this tutorial to connect with your friends on Facebook. Go the Friends section in the left column and hover your mouse over the word Friends. When I look at my friend list, there is only 56. I have two questions for you: first, when you click all updates, does that mean those people will now show up in my notifications? If you spot information or posts you do not want to be public Edit the privacy settings of individual posts or go to Settings to censor it from the public. You can also see whom you've blocked in the past and unblock them if you change your mind.